The best serving advice I ever got

http://www.chainleader.com/coffee-trends/articleXML/LN841608947.html

That’s a link to an article about how the recession means lower tips and fewer customers. Ditto.

So about that advice. I was talking to my manager Saturday afternoon and he started telling me about how tables with kids like to be really engaged. He said to be really chatty and learn the kids names and hang out with them – to even hover a little bit in case you need to hand them the check right away so they can leave if the kid gets a temper tantrum.

Alright. Let’s entertain the little demonseeds.

Demonseed.

Demonseed.

I gave this little baby a hug and told her parents how beautiful she was and what a good kid and blah blah blah. But I actually meant it. She was a really attractive baby, and compared to the screamers at the table next to her, she was such a happy little toddler. I didn’t even notice or mind that she spilled her little goldfish on the floor. She was just too damn cute! And then this other table had two little kids…around five or six. I learned their names (Aiden and Emily) and catered to them all night. I asked the little boy about his drawing (an alleged “computer” although his sketch more closely resembled Toucan Sam) and asked the little girl who braided her hair so pretty.

The table with the one kid left me 20% and the table with the two kids left me 25%. Who knew? I mean, usually I spend so much of my energy whining and getting annoyed by how much of a mess the kids are making to realize how sweet they are. I think I have a new outlook.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a comment